About the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council

As a Council of Traditional Owners, we are committed to strengthening pride and knowledge held by Aboriginal people across Victoria

The Aboriginal Heritage Council was created in May 2007 as part of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 2006. Before the act was amended, only groups with Traditional Owner Settlement Agreements were able to make decisions on Aboriginal Cultural Heritage for an area of country.

Council appoints Registered Aboriginal Parties to manage and protect Cultural Heritage on their country.

11 Traditional Owners, chosen by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, form the Council. All members live in Victoria and have knowledge of Aboriginal Cultural Heritage.

Responsibilities of Council

As an independent statutory body, Council can:

The Office of the Heritage Council supports the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council.