Victoria government logo

Traditional Owners for Melbourne CBD

The Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council is pleased to announce that the Melbourne CBD, along with Country and Waters to the east and west, will now be formally cared for and protected by its Traditional Owners.

Tuesday 22 June 2021 3:27am from Melbourne metropolitan
Published by Department of Premier and Cabinet

The Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation has consented to Council’s proposed variation to its boundaries.

Variation area

The variation will take effect from 1 July 2021 and includes, in part, the local government areas of:

  • Baw Baw
  • Boroondara
  • Brimbank
  • Cardinia
  • Glen Eira
  • Knox
  • Maribyrnong
  • Melbourne
  • Melton
  • Monash
  • Port Phillip
  • Stonnington
  • Yarra
  • Yarra Ranges.

Additional information can be found in the map below and more detailed mapping will be available on 1 July 2021.

Further information

Boundary Variations Consideration June 2021External Link

About the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation

Fact sheet - About the Victoria Aboriginal Heritage Council

Fact sheet - Registration of Aboriginal Parties

Fact sheet - About Registered Aboriginal Parties

Fact sheet - Traditional Owners’ Caring for Country

Reviewed 23 June 2021

Was this page helpful?